Week #1

dsc06686dsc06687dsc06689img_4357Family!!!! Yes today is my P-day. I have survived two days of the MTC! There is so much to write about. They say the MTC is like standing in front of a fire-hose. You get some water, but mostly it just hurts hahaha. Yep I would have to agree with that!

Today we got to work-out outside the MTC in the little grass field near the temple and it was AMAZING! It felt so good to be outside. I tried to get a little suntan on my face 😉 Also, in about fifteen minutes we are going to do a session at the Provo temple so I am writing as much as I can right now until I get back and finish. I guess I will just share my highlights of the past few days!

So on Wednesday, I reported! Entering the MTC is the weirdest thing haha. Honestly I don’t really know how to describe it, you just have to experience it. First of all, they bring you right in and get everything set up with your name badge and MTC card, there is no time to be sad even though you just said bye to your family like 5 minutes before. My host did not speak English, so that was also quite the adventure trying to find my residence and classroom haha. But I did! Also, while you’re getting your books, badge, ID card, EVERYONE is in your face saying “Welcome to the MTC!” After a while, it gets kind of creepy because literally everyone is SO HAPPY. Like I felt like I was in a movie, I can’t really find the words to describe it haha. But I loved it. I really made me feel welcomed. As I was walking toward my classroom down this big hallway, I saw Sister Barkdull studying! We both started crying and hugging we were so excited. It felt good to see a familiar face! Then, I met my district. Okay, so I have two companions, Sister Rice and Sister Harris. Sister Rice is from Alpine and is going to the Oakland/San Fran VC. Sister Harris is from New Jersey and she is going to the Los Angeles VC. They are so sweet! They are very hardworkers. There are also two other sisters in our district. Sister Bailey is from Springville and is going to the Cleveland Ohio VC and so is Sister Bayona (she is from Long Beach!) We have three sets of elder companionships, they are all going english speaking to various Salt Lake City missions. They are all straight out of high school (except one who is 20) so some of them are a little rowdy but they are so great nonetheless.

After meeting our district, we went to a welcoming presentation. The MTC president spoke to us and it was awesome! And yes, we sang Called to Serve and Army of Helaman. Instead of “We will be the Lords missionaries,” we sang “We ARE NOW the Lords missionaries.” I loved that. It really touched me. After this meeting, we ate dinner and had a few more class rotations. We met our zone leaders, they are great! Sister Barkdull is in my zone AND she lives next door so that has been a huge blessing!

Yesterday was so long haha. Seriously, we studied and went to class nonstop. But, we taught our first lesson to an investigator! (it was our teacher but whatever haha). Sister Rice and Sister Harris and I went into an empty room to pray about what we should teach our “investigator.” When we said amen, we waited a few more seconds on our knees. Then we jotted down some notes and shared. You guys, we each received revelation that tied together and formed a lesson PERFECTLY! We were amazed. Our prayer was answered and our first lesson went so well. Later in the day, I was getting a little discouraged. I was so tired, spiritually and physically, and a little homesick. But boy does Heavenly Father know me so well. Our last class of the day was called “People and My Purpose.” Basically talking about how to get to know and love the people we teach and not spouting out memorized lessons. The teacher shared with us a Mormon Message called “Lifted Burdens.” LOOK IT UP! It was awesome. My favorite quotes in it were “Heavenly Father sees you as the glorious beings you are destined to become.” (Elder Packer) and “Come unto Him and be transformed.” (President Bednar). It made me feel so much love for my future investigators. Also, our teacher said that the MTC is the only time during your mission that you are somewhat “selfish.” We must prepare ourselves and focus on ourselves to be able to teach others. I cannot waste my days feeling tired or homesick. I only have 18 months!!! And as if this wasn’t enough, the Lord lifted me up even more. Last night, we met our branch presidency. Elder Listin is truly a man of God. I am so lucky to be in Branch 42! He shared with us D&C 84:88-89

88 And whoso receiveth you, there I will be also, for I will go before your face. I will be on your right hand and on your left, and my Spirit shall be in your hearts, and mine angels round about you, to bear you up.

89 Whoso receiveth you receiveth me; and the same will feed you, and clothe you, and give you money.

How amazing is that! I have the Lord on my side. Whenever I feel down, I am reminded by this love when I study, teach, or am taught by our amazing MTC teachers. Like I said, I only have 18 months to wear this name badge on my chest. I want to do my Savior proud! The MTC is so great. It is such a spiritual place. Thank you all for your letters! I am so grateful for the support. Until next week! (i will send pictures in another email!)

