Missouri – week #5

image6-2image6-1image3-5image2-7image2-6image2-5image1-8image1-7image1-6image1-5image2-4image3-4

Hi loved ones!!!! ❤️❤️❤️ I really cannot believe it’s P Day again!! This week was AMAZING and full of tender mercies.

First of all, we have a BAPTISM next week!!! Yep, you read that right. Inde 4th will be gaining a new member, Amanda! Unfortunately, her husband isn’t super supportive of her right now and because of that, she skipped church this week. Since she missed, her baptism will probably be next week so she can come to church one more time. So keep her in your prayers (and him too so that his heart will be softened) Anyways, she was an investigator who moved into our ward last week. Elders in the Lee’s Summit 1st ward passed her on to us just this week. While we were on exchanges, Sister Soto and Sister Flake met with her and taught her the Gospel of Jesus Christ lesson and committed her to baptism! Although I have never met Amanda, I am so proud of my companion for working hard and being bold! I can’t wait to meet her tonight and help teach the last two lessons. She is so prepared!! She is already living the word of wisdom and she fasted on Sunday for her husband. I am just praying so hard for them right now. Every time we talk to her on the phone, she says “I just love the Book of Mormon! Sometimes I get frustrated and I want to just shake my husband and say ‘Just read it and you’ll know it’s from God!'” Yep I feel the same way sometimes haha. We met someone yesterday who said “Nope I only believe in the Bible. Book of Mormon is not true.” I asked her “Have you ever read the Book of Mormon before?” Annnnd she said no haha. If you are reading this and have never read the Book of Mormon before, I invite you to read it! It is the word of God and the only way you’ll know if it’s true or not is if you pick it up, read it, and pray about it. But anyways, I love Amanda already and I am inspired every time she shares her testimony.

Alsoooooo I put someone on date yesterday!! NBD it was just my first time!! His name is Johnny! He was a potential investigator that Sister Soto and I felt like we should visit. He has the SAME moral values as the church as well as the SAME beliefs! We talked about baptism and the proper authority and I just knew that I needed to invite him to be baptized. Right as I started to ask him, OF COURSE the leaf blower across the street starts going and it’s SO LOUD hahaha I was like “yep of course this is just my luck” but I was able to drag it out a bit until it stopped and I said “As you come to know that these things that we teach are true, Johnny, will you follow the example of our Savior, Jesus Christ and be baptized by someone holding the proper authority of God?” And he said yes!! He said that he had been baptized before and felt the Spirit, but knew that there was something more to it. Um hello yes it’s called authority!!! We told him to pray about December 10th 🙏🏼 We were so excited!! We are finally seeing the results of our faith.

And yes, we went on exchanges on Saturday. I was so nervous because I just love my companion so much and I was going to be the one who left the area. But Sister Jorgensen was so sweet! Her area is North Kansas City and their apartment is right next to the temple. We woke up at 5:20, ran at the church that’s RIGHT next to the temple, and then went to breakfast with Sister Morgan and Sister Baggett!! I have been sooo lucky that I get to see Sister Morgan as often as I have. (And I am finally in the habit of calling her Sister Morgan hahaha love you sis!!) Our dinner that night felt like Thanksgiving hahaha. They served us like a three course meal and it tasted SO good. But at the end of the night, I was so ready to be back in Independence. There’s just nothing quite like this place. Also, I survived another full pros day (we only have one per week usually) and can I just say that I love being at the Visitor Center most days???? I was seriously so exhausted but it was a great exchange and I learned so much!

Someone very special came into the Visitor Center this week. Presiding Bishop of the Church- Bishop Caussé! He was so nice and so was his sweet wife! We were able to sing “I Believe in Christ” to him in front of the Christus. His wife cried and at the end he said, “Thank you sisters! That was beautiful!” It was an experience I’ll never forget. I will attach a picture 🤗 After we sang to him, we rushed over to correlation meeting with Brother Davies and our elders. I got out of the car and said “John! (He hates being called Brother Davies) Guess who was at the visitor center today!” And he goes “Yeah I already know I was with him all day.” Just totally nonchalantly hahahaha. John has a very good relationship with the Community of Christ church and Bishop Caussé called him up and he took him around the conference center and temple! But anyways, it was so cool to be able to meet another general authority here. Look up his recent conference address from April 2015. (If no one else will I know my dad will!) It is so good. I listened to it this morning while I was getting ready!

Something that I have learned on my mission so far is how simple the doctrine of Christ is. During Zone training (which was so amazing by the way), we were able to watch the new Christmas initiative video the church puts out and it was perfect. It will be up to watch the day after Thanksgiving! Sister Soto and I cried during the whole video. It was beautiful. Following our Savior is so simple. I love that about the Gospel. I love Alma 37:6-7

6 Now ye may suppose that this is foolishness in me; but behold I say unto you, that by small and simple things are great things brought to pass; and small means in many instances doth confound the wise.

7 And the Lord God doth work by means to bring about his great and eternal purposes; and by very small means the Lord doth confound the wise and bringeth about the salvation of many souls.

If we do SIMPLE things, the Lord will bring about miracles. Following our Savior can be as simple as reaching out to a friend, doing service for the needy, or loving our family members. We must be a light to those around us! I also love this scripture in John 8:12

12 ¶Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

He set the example. I love that the video portrays this. It’s called #LIGHTtheWORLD and I can’t wait for everyone else to see this video!

And before I close, I’ll leave another little tidbit of history for ya. In March of 1831, Joseph Smith wanted to know where Zion would be located. He was commanded by the Lord to travel here to Independence and that the revelation would be received. Well he did as he was asked (and traveled over 900 miles/50 days) and he received the revelation that Zion would be located here in Independence! He went back to tell the Saints and they were SO excited! He said that they would need to come in groups so that they wouldn’t overwhelm the original settlers here. But because they were so eager to build Zion, they came all at once. By 1833, there were 1200 saints here in Independence and they made up 1/3 of the population here in Jackson County. This would cause some trouble later on that I will talk about next week.

I am so blessed to be here. I love my mission! Independence is SO unique. There is nothing quite like it! I’m pretty sure I will come home saying “God bless!” And “Missouruh” instead of “Missouri” and “warsh” instead of “wash.” I just love the people here. I’m so grateful that I am able to meet and teach God’s children! Southern hospitality is a real thing. And the Inde 4th ward has been so sweet to me. The Kroegers (fav fam from the ward) came into the VC this week and said how glad they are that we are here preaching the gospel in this ward. Brother Kroeger was converted by sister missionaries and their family just has a sweet spot for us. That was a hard day for me and they answered my prayers by coming! Their daughter Naomi actually felt inspired to come to the VC to see us and so we watched Meet the Mormons with them 💕 I just feel so overwhelmingly blessed by everyone and everything here! This past week was full of miracles and I can’t wait to experience even more this week.

I love you all!!
Xo
Sister Draper

Leave a Reply

