Missouri – week #7

bapimage4image2img_0552img_0517img_0515img_0532image3All is well in the Alpha and Omega Mission! This week was crazy. Transfers!! Sister Williams and Sister Jorgensen are my new companions! We are serving in the Blue Mills Ward as Sister Training Leaders over the Visitor Center. Which is crazy because I have only been out for one transfer and feel like I know nothing still….I am relying very much on prayers and Diet Coke at the moment haha. Sister Williams is from Provo and Sister Jorgensen is from West Jordan. This is Sister Jorgensen’s last transfer 😦 but she is so sweet! She LOVES waking up early and working out so she is definitely helping me to stay (more like get) in shape. And Sister Williams is hilarious and I love her so much! We live at the Sea Avenue apartments (very fitting!), but don’t let the name get you confused. Our view is of a cemetery and I feel like Will Ferrell in Elf because I’m way taller than the shower head and my feet hang off my bed. But it’s much cleaner than the dollhouse and I love it! We hung a couple Christmas decorations and I love how cozy it feels! We live just downstairs from the Wilson’s, who are my favorite senior couple serving at the VC. It’s so fun!!! We go over every night and talk with them. Sister Wilson supplies said Diet Coke.

I was very sad to leave Independence 4th ward, but I was still able to go to Amanda’s baptism on Saturday! Wow. It was an experience I’ll never forget. I couldn’t help but get choked up as she entered the waters of baptism. After she was baptized, she threw her face into her towel and just sobbed! She said “This is the feeling I’ve been waiting for my whole life!” It was such a special day. I can’t wait to go through the temple with her in a year!!! I gave her a journal with some President Uchtdorf quotes inside haha. I just love her and I will never forget that day.

On Sunday, we had our first day in Blue Mills! It’s like 90% Polynesian and I love it hahahaha. We got lots of food (yep…during church haha) (really…cake, cookies, candy…all during relief society) and everyone was SO welcoming. “TALOFA!” everywhere we went haha. Apparently, they believe that the more that the missionaries eat, the more blessings their family receives. So I’m happy that we have Sister Jorgensen to keep us in shape haha. We are serving in the same ward as the AP’s and so that’s been fun to get to know them more! The bishop’s son gave his missionary homecoming on Sunday and it was AMAZING.

He shared with us that when Joseph Smith and Hyrum were killed, the local newspaper printed an article about it. At the end of the article, the closing sentence contained three words: “Thus ends Mormonism.” And yet, we know that it didn’t. The Savior’s ministry didn’t end after He was crucified and His church continued to grow after the first Latter-Day prophet was martyred. This is truly Jesus Christ’s church. In the short time of being a missionary, I have learned to turn my will over to the Lord and let Him change me. This is what life is all about! Changing to become like our Savior Jesus Christ. That’s why His church stands today! Because it’s not just a belief of Him, it is a way of life. That is my favorite part of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Our reason for gaining a body and coming to this earth is to change into something better. To change and become like our Savior. I hope to learn how to acquire more attributes of the Savior on my mission. I love Him. And I love serving Him with all my heart, might, mind, and strength.

A nonmember family came into the VC this week and I took them through! I taught them the Restoration and talked about the Book of Mormon. When I read 3 Nephi 11 to them, I asked how they felt and the father said, “when you were reading that, I felt warm all over!” Yes!! That’s the spirit. I gave them all a Book of Mormon and invited them to read it. He even wrote down his email and I will follow up with them this week! They live in Independence somewhere so that’s awesome. Nonmember tours are my favorite because I get to testify even more that I usually do. I just love the visitor center!!!!

We didn’t have a ton of time to be in our area this week because we are so busy planning, going to meetings, and being on shift, but I know that we will see success in the little time we have in our area. No effort is ever wasted as a missionary! And I have so much faith that we can transform this area! I am so eager to find those who the Lord has prepared. A lot of people here love God, but the elect are those who love God back.

I love being a missionary. I love being guided by the Spirit so much! I am so happy and so humbled to help serve the sisters here at the Visitor Center. They are all so sweet and have so much knowledge and light!!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I hope everyone has a special day remembering everything they are grateful for, especially our Savior. Don’t forget to share the #LIGHTtheWORLD video that comes out on Friday! I love you and I will talk to y’all next week.

Xo
Sister Draper

Leave a Reply

