Missouri – week #10

img_0680img_0689img_0691-1img_0698img_0711img_0714img_0732-1image1-8image2-4image3-6image4-2image5-1img_0738

Hi family!! ❤️❤️❤️ I say this every week but I can’t believe it’s already been a week since my last p day! We had a very busy, productive week. On Wednesday, we had an Independence stake dinner for the missionaries brought on by the stake presidency! All of the office and senior missionaries came and so did the young ones in the Independence Zone too! We put on a little music performance (where I made my big return debut and played in a piano trio) and ate a tonnnn of good food. Then the Inde Zone leaders put on a skit between President Vest (my mission president) and President Cato (the Independence stake president) to see who was the best missionary! Things got pretty heated hahahaha let’s just say that I’ve seen President in a very different light now. But it was such a fun night. I felt kind of weird being at an event without investigators or members, i kept saying “I can’t believe President approved of all of us being here…..” hahaha goes to show that my mind is officially in missionary mode.

On Wednesday during the morning/ afternoon, we were at Presidents house having MLC! I loved counseling and learning with all the leaders of the mission. It was very inspiring! President showed us a video from Elder Holland that I had never seen before. But it basically talks about the Atonement and relates it to missions. Missions are HARD. Sometimes I really do feel like asking God why His work is not easy. I tried to write down really quickly what Elder Holland said so don’t quote me exactly on this, but this was basically it:

“Missionary work is not easy because salvation is not a cheap experience. Salvation was never easy. This is the Church of Jesus Christ. This is the truth. He is our great eternal head. Why do we think it would be easy for us when it was never ever easy for Him?

We must be prepared to walk some of the path he walked. Some of the pain He felt. Occasionally shed one of the tears of sorrow that He shed. It will only be a token of the price He paid. Missionary work was never easy.

We are not the first ones to ask why this isn’t easy. Someone a lot greater, a lot better asked this long before we did. In token or symbolism, there will not be an easy way for us either. If we appreciate it, the Atonement will carry us. For a moment or two we will know a little bit of what He felt. We will have faith in His sacrifice and faith that He will help us in this work.”

I loved hearing this. It made me have a greater love and appreciation for my Savior. I am grateful for how hard missions are because like Elder Holland said, for a moment or two I can experience a little bit of what Christ did.

On Thursday, we were assigned to train in Warrensburg for zone training! The STLs move around based on the needs of each zone. So I drove an hour and a half northeast to Warrensburg and it was such a fun lil road trip. I gave my first training! I talked about the Holy Ghost and how as missionaries, we must become converted through the Holy Ghost before we can help others. I love this quote from Preach My Gospel chapter 4: “[Heavenly Father] will help you as you try to recognize and understand the Spirit through diligent scripture study. He will guide you to people who will receive the message of the Restoration. He will give you power to deliver the message and to testify of Christ and His gospel. He will shower His blessings upon you through the gift of the Holy Ghost. He asks that you remain worthy of this gift and that you ask, seek, and knock”

This goes for members too! If you diligently study the scriptures, pray, and utilize the Holy Ghost, your mouths will be filled and you will find those who are ready to hear the gospel. 👍🏼
We went on exchanges Saturday and I stayed in Blue Mills by myself! Sister McBride from the Hill Park ward came to be my companion for the day. She’s only been out one transfer longer than me. We had so much fun trying to figure out how to be missionaries together hahaha. It was kinda funny being the sister leader because I’m the younger missionary but I learned from HER so much! It was freezing all day and snowy and sadly no one really let us in. But I had a pretty cool prompting that came to mind! We were visiting a potential investigator and when we pulled up to her house, it just didn’t feel right. So we prayed and decided to drive down the road. I felt like stopping in front of a particular house and we got out and knocked. The woman who answered let us right in, told us to sit down, and offered us breakfast! I was like “what the heck this is crazy! We are totally going to baptize her!!” Until she kept talking and finally I said “wait are you a member?!” She said yes! Hahahaha. She is less active and we were able to share a message with her! She thought it was so cool how I was prompted to knock on her door. I’m not entirely sure why I was, but I hope she needed it that day.

I had another really cool experience with a less active this week. I was on shift at the Visitor Center and this woman walks in. I greet her and she says she wants to go sit at the statue of Christ. After we listen to the narration, she tells me how she is inactive and wants to make all of these changes in her life and come back to church. She said that her parents are both really active and she’s getting help from them. I asked her what ward she’s in and she said “Blue Mills! The Samoan ward.” CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?! She told me how she was prompted to come to the Visitor Center that day. I think I know why! We are going to meet with her and help bring her back into the fold of God 🙂

And finally, VANITA AND MARVIN came to church!!! It was a miracle. Unfortunately though, Vanita has MS and could only stay for the first two hours but it was such a powerful, spirit-filled day at church. She loved it! And they brought Anna too. Our goal this week is to put Vanita on date to be baptized. We aren’t too confident about Marvin, but it was a miracle that he even came to church. Please keep them in your prayers! I have so much faith for this family. They have changed so much in just the short amount of time we’ve been meeting with them. That’s my favorite part about being a missionary: seeing the change in people as they live the gospel.

I LOVE THIS ward. Polynesians are the nicest people. And for those who know me, you should be proud of me for eating RAW SHRIMP. At dinner one night, they just brought me a huge tub of raw shrimp hahahaha just like sitting in coconut milk. I prayed so hard to have the strength to eat it haha. And prayers were answered cuz I kept it all down too. But I just love how open and blatantly honest these islanders are. There’s never an awkward or quiet dinner appointment with them hahaha. They have been so welcoming and loving to me. I will always love the Samoan people and their hearts. I love it here! I am very happy to be a missionary.

I love you all so much! Thank you for the love you show back to me. I got a couple Christmas cards this week along with the cutest lil package from the Covenant Hills ward scouts!! Thank you so much. Remember to pray and read your scriptures every day. We are so lucky to have direct communication with our Heavenly Father and a resource to read His words. Have a blessed week!

Xo
Sister Draper

Leave a Reply

