Missouri – week #12

image1-1image2-1image3-2image4-1image5-1image7image8image9

Hello loved ones!! This week was the best. The highlight was definitely talking to my family! I love them so much.

You’re probably wondering about the play on words in the title of this email. Well let me tell ya.

Monday morning, Sister Williams and I went to go to P Day sports at 5:45 am with the rest of our Zone. When we walked outside, we saw probably a 30 pound possum staring at us, and then he proceeded to walk under our car and stay there. We were terrified because possums here are RUTHLESS apparently. If you are unfamiliar with mission rules, you need to have your companion back you out of a parking spot. Being the designated driver, I needed to back out! Sister Williams suggested that I jump inside the car so the possum wouldn’t attack. So I opened the car door quickly and backed away. I took a running start and LEAPED into the car and tried to sit down at the same time. The right side of my body smashed into the center console (I only cried for 20 minutes… just kidding haha) but we DIED LAUGHING. Those dang possums! Anyways, it was funny more than it hurt and I just love Sister Williams so much.

This week was SO FUN!

We went caroling with some of the ward members to some less actives and investigators and asked for referrals! We caroled to Venita’s house (which, confession….her name is actually Benita and yes we are the worst missionaries ever because we’ve been teaching her for a month hahaha it’s a long story but yes, from now on I will refer to her as Benita….her real name). We asked her if there was anyone else she wanted us to visit and she told us about her neighbor up the street. We knocked on the door and sweet old Fran answered the door. She was in tears when we sang to her. She said that no one had ever done anything that nice for her before! Long story short, we talked to her about the Plan of Salvation and she invited us to come back on Wednesday!

On Christmas Eve, the sisters who live below us came upstairs and we all had a sleepover in our living room! We woke up early to open gifts, got ready, and went to church! We then ate crepes with the Wilson’s who live above us, skyped our families, and had shift at the VC! I loved being able to focus on the Savior this Christmas season. As I was studying the New Testament (side by side with the New Testament Institute Manual), I came across a great quote about our Savior:

C. S. Lewis taught that we must make an all-or-nothing choice in response to Jesus Christ: “You must make your choice. Either this man [Jesus Christ] was, and is, the Son of God: or else a madman or something worse. You can shut Him up for a fool, you can spit at Him and kill Him as a demon; or you can fall at His feet and call Him Lord and God. But let us not come with any patronising nonsense about His being a great human teacher. He has not left that open to us. He did not intend to.”

I know that Jesus Christ was and is the Savior of the world. I am forever grateful for His birth, life, ministry, and Atonement. He lives! And because He lives, all of us will again too.

I am excited to continue to grow my testimony of Him. Transfers are this week and I’m pretty sure that Sister Williams and I will stay together in Blue Mills! We have lots of changes coming, about 20 sisters are leaving the mission and the VC is getting new directors, so we will be busy with lots of meetings. But I know that as we rely on the Lord, He will guide us in the way He wants this mission to go.

Thank you all for the Christmas love!! I hope everyone has a wonderful new year!

Xoxo
Sister Draper

Leave a Reply

