Missouri – week #13

image1-2image2-2image3-3image4-2image101

New Year, New Investigators…and new P Day! For the next 6 weeks, I will be emailing on Mondays. Anyways, hey everyone! This week was seriously INSANE.

We had transfers! Sister Williams and I will be staying together in Blue Mills. Sadly, this is her last transfer…but it’s going to be her best last transfer ever! We are such best friends and I learn from her every single day.

With transfers this week, we had to completely redo the whole VC schedule. We also share 5 cars among 16 sisters, changed p-days, made a Sunday schedule, and so basically, we spent 15 hours at the computer on Thursday and Friday. I didn’t expect that I could become a master of Microsoft Excel on my mission hahaha it’s going on my resume when I get home. But anyways, those two days were pretty intense. Both Sister Williams and I were feeling a little discouraged UNTIL our lesson with Benita at the LIBERTY JAIL!!

So we planned on taking her there so we could help her establish a strong testimony of Joseph Smith, and then teach the Word of Wisdom. We were so nervous! But after the presentation, she was amazed and also shocked about the treatment of Joseph Smith and the early saints. She said “I don’t even doubt that he was a prophet!” It was AMAZING. We presented the word of wisdom to her and she was a little hesitant about a few things, but eventually said “If this is what God wants me to do, I’ll live it!” Sister Hupp from the ward came with us and bore a powerful testimony. And then Benita bore hers! She said that her life was empty before she met us but now it was full of purpose. She knew that it wasn’t a coincidence that we knocked on her door that day. When Sister Williams and I bore our witness of the change we saw in her already, Benita turned to her daughter Anna with tears in her eyes and said “Look how beautiful they are.” I love when people recognize that we truly are representatives of our Savior, Jesus Christ. It makes the work just a little bit easier.

Oh and remember Fran, the old lady we caroled to that I talked about last week? Well we had a lesson with her! Sister Williams and I planned that morning to teach the Plan of Salvation. But, as soon as we started talking, the spirit told us nope, restoration. So we did! And it went so well surprisingly. Both Fran and her husband Junior committed to read the Book of Mormon! After our lesson, Fran told us that we were angels and she needed to hear our message that day. She showed us her room full of porcelain angel statues and we read her one of my favorite scriptures D&C 84:88:

“And whoso receiveth you, there I will be also, for I will go before your face. I will be on your right hand and on your left, and my Spirit shall be in your hearts, and mine angels round about you, to bear you up.”

I could definitely feel angels surrounding us in that lesson.

Which brings me to another experience I want to share! One of the most powerful contacts I’ve ever had! An investigator gave us a referral for a neighbor who was apparently “crazy religious.” We didn’t have much hope haha but we contacted them anyways. Her name is Mary and she was super sweet! She has been pretty busy, so we came back to teach her just a few days ago. We shared with her the Plan of Salvation, because she had recently lost her husband. All throughout the lesson she just cried! When we asked her how she was feeling, she said “I can feel the presence of my husband here.” Wow!! I get chills everytime I think about it. I have such a strong testimony that angels are round about us, bearing us up at all times. Her husband has accepted the gospel and wants her to SO badly! We are going back to teach Mary this week!

I am so excited for this new year! It’s crazy to think that I will be a missionary for all of 2017…it’s the best! I am so happy here. It’s hard and uncomfortable at times, but it’s so worth it. “There’s no growth in a comfort zone, and no comfort in a growth zone” is what Sister Vest always says. If you are comfortable right now where you’re at, you’re not growing! Don’t let your testimony get stale. This new year is a perfect time to go out of your comfort zone and grow your testimony. I love all of you so much! Have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

