Missouri – week #19

image2-10image3-1image4-11image4-10image5-7image5-8image6-3image1-10

Hiiii everyone!!!

This week I said bye to Sister Williams 💔 (saddest day) and hello to Sister Giraud-Carrier! (Sister GC for short haha…it was so entertaining to watch a ton of Samoan’s try to pronounce her name hahaha) She is originally from France and is so sweet! (I get to brush up on my French wooo!) She’s been out a transfer longer than I have and came from serving at the Liberty Jail–so she’s still learning the ropes of the VC and STL life (I hope I didn’t scare her off when we made the shift schedule…..) but I’m excited for this transfer to get to know her more!

It was a crazy busy week! I turned 21 and had the best birthday. It will be a birthday I’ll never forget. I guess the only thing people know about me is the type of music that I like, because I got a Kanye shirt from our elders and a Tupac shirt from the Zone hahaha. Maybe I should try to leave a more spiritual impression on people. Haha anyways, it was great. Bishop Taviuni and his family got me a cake and sang in Samoan, we got ice cream with the Peterson’s, and had dinner with Makenna and Lasi. Obviously did some missionary work in between 😉 Cydne (previously known as Sister Morgan) just happened to call the VC while I was there. I was on full proselyting that day and wasn’t going to be at the Visitor Center, but for some reason, Sis Williams and I stopped in for a few minutes and she called! I got to talk to her for a little bit and it made my whole day. It will be a birthday I’ll always remember 💕💕

This week, we visited a ton of members. We want to get more referrals from them and work with the youth too. We visited Sister Gregg, her husband isn’t a member and he works a ton, so basically she is super mom! Her family is one of my favorites in the ward. After our lesson, Sis Williams and I asked Jolie (her 8 year old daughter), which church song we should sing to close. She replied “‘Take Me to Church’ by Hozier!” hahahaha it was so cute. I love my ward!

I had a pretty cool experience on a tour this week as well. I’ve been trying to put more effort in all of the tours that I take, even if they are with completely active members of the church. Well, this single woman comes in and immediately I felt the love that our Heavenly Father has for her. Throughout the whole presentation, I wanted to say things, but the Spirit would stop me! The words wouldn’t even come out of my mouth!! I humbled myself and followed the direction that the Holy Ghost took me. Heavenly Father loves her so much and wanted her to hear a specific message. We talked about service the entire history tour. A scripture came to my mind, but I didn’t know the reference. So I just blurted out a different reference and I had noooo idea what it was about. I started to turn to the scripture just praying that it had significance to what we were talking about hahaha. The reference that I said was Mosiah 2:21. It talks about rendering service to God! I seriously couldn’t believe it. I have had similar situations where the Spirit has worked through me but in that moment, I truly felt like an instrument in the Lord’s hands. I love this mantle I have to strengthen the church but also find those who are kept from the truth “only because they know not where to find it.” (D&C 213:12)

And speaking of….. remember my recent convert Amanda?! Her sweet mom Bonnie (we started to meet with her right before I was transferred) was baptized just two weeks ago! I love missionary work. It’s never just one baptism. They both make me so happy! 💛

I love how much joy missionary work brings into my life. In relief society, we read this quote from President Hinckley:

“Every day is a great day in my life. I hope every day is a great day in your lives–every one of you. I hope you can get ready to go in the morning and shake the hand of your companion and say, ‘Brother (Sister), life is good. Let’s go out and have a good day.’ And when you come in at night, I hope you can say to one another, ‘It’s been a good day. We’ve had a good time. We’ve helped somebody along the way. … We’ll follow up with them and pray and hope that they will come into the Church.’ Every day ought to be a good day in the mission field.”

It’s so true!! Every day is a good day. Thank you again for the prayers and support on my behalf, especially the sweet birthday messages I got this week. LOVE YOU ALL!

Xo
Sister Draper

Leave a Reply

