Missouri – week #22

image1-2image4-2image3

This was an AMAZING week!! I can’t believe that I hit my 6 month mark tomorrow!

We were spiritually fed at MLC and Zone Training. I gave a training on repentance. I love this quote from Elder Bednar, that “the world changes us from the outside in, but the Lord changes us from the inside out.” We need to involve the Redeemer in repentance to fully have a change in heart. If our heart changes, so does our countenance!! Repentance is so joyful.

We went on exchanges again this week! I was with Sister Cooper, she’s fresh from the MTC but such a great missionary! While we were street contacting, this woman with crazy purple hair started to chase us! Haha when she caught up, she told us that she was a member and wants to come back to church. She said she saw us outside her window and knew that it was an answer to her prayers. She’s not on our ward roster so it was a miracle!! She is SO NICE and I’m excited to work with her, purple hair and all 🙂

We also had our lesson with Philip!! YAYY it went really well. He is super receptive and said that he would read and pray about the Book of Mormon. He has a lot of faith and looooves the Bible, so I know that he will love the Book of Mormon! He has an open mind and heart, so he’s very teachable 🙂 The only problem is that he’s really busy and it’s hard to find time that works for us both, but we are hopeful!

ANNNND we went to the Liberty Jail with Sister Gregg and her family! We brought Amanda (Gah I just love her so much!!!) because they have pretty similar situations. Sister Gregg’s husband is not a member and neither is Amanda’s. And since Amanda was baptized in November, she is preparing to receive her endowment just like Sister Gregg! It was such a great experience. Sister Farnsworth took us through (yeeeee!!) and she shared D&C 123: 16-17 (which was revealed in the Liberty Jail!)

16 …a very large ship is benefited very much by a very small helm in the time of a storm, by being kept workways with the wind and the waves.
17 Therefore, dearly beloved brethren, let us cheerfully do all things that lie in our power…

It was so perfect! Amanda and Sister Gregg have such a strong influence on their children and husbands. They are incredible mothers. I’m excited to see both of these amazing women enter the temple soon and receive the many blessings that come with.

However, this week I think the greatest miracle that happened was the birth of my angel niece, Brooklyn! I reflected a lot about the beautiful Plan of Salvation that I’ve been able to share with others for 6 MONTHS. On the day of baby Brooklyn’s birth, I couldn’t help but get emotional just reflecting on how truly grateful I am. I am so blessed to have the Gospel of Jesus Christ in my life. I know His plan of Salvation truly is a plan of happiness. I know that Brooklyn lived with our Father in Heaven before she was born. She decided to come to earth, to gain a body, and experience life. Before the veil, she knew that she would face challenges, but because of the Atonement of Jesus Christ, she knew that she would be able to overcome them. Because of her righteous parents, she will be taught this from the early stages in her life. She will be able to choose for herself how to utilize the wonderful gift of the Atonement. As she keeps the commandments, she will be able to return to her loving Heavenly Father and live with Him, His beloved Son, and her family forever.

I’m grateful for her and I adore her so much already; I know that her sweet spirit has guided and protected me during the first 6 months of my mission. My heart is so full as I continue to gain an understanding and testimony of this beautiful plan and teach it to the people here in Missouri.

I love my mission. I am growing SO MUCH. And I am glad that I still have a little less than a year left to share my joy with EVERYONE I see.

I love you all.
Xo
Sister Draper

Leave a Reply

