Missouri – week #21

image1-1image1-11image2-11image3-11image4-13

HELLO all!!

It was a wonderful week!

Some little updates:
Philip (the miracle man who actually called us back!!): we are meeting with him and his family tonight. PLEASEEE pray for us. I’m so excited!

Benita: Probably the toughest part of this week. I felt prompted to go see her one day and she told us that Marvin had given her an ultimatum: him or the church. I was DEVASTATED. She is so prepared and so willing to accept the gospel (she reads out of the Book of Mormon every day and wants to enter the temple SO BADLY!!), and yet, because of SOMEONE ELSE’S agency, she won’t be able to participate in the blessings that come from baptism. But I shared with her the story of Alma the Younger and the Sons of Mosiah (Mosiah 27) and how they were so wicked and preached against the church but still had a change of heart and became some of the best missionaries ever. Her comment to that was “well I wish an angel could appear to Marvin.” Same. I’m sad about the whole thing, but I have faith and hope that he will one day accept the Gospel. We will see her every once an awhile, but that’s as much as we can do at this point.

Anyways, the rest of this week was good though!
We did service at a nunnery in Independence (I’ve never felt more at home in my life hahahaha kidding, but still…..) It was quite the experience! It was so interesting to hear Sister Andrea (the head honcho…slash Nun) talk about her humanitarian experiences in different countries. She wasn’t super interested in what we believed, but I tried to slide some Doctrine in every once in a while. We packaged medical supplies for third world countries and I loved it!

Okay okay but I’m saving the craziest miracle for last!! Her name is Danielle and she lives in Florida!!!! YEP Florida!! I LOVE TEACHING CENTER. In case y’all forgot, as Visitor Center missionaries, we take chats and calls from Mormon.org and help them receive free Bibles/Book of Mormon/missionary visits through their local missionaries of course. Well I took a chat this week (chats are my favorite thing hahaha the questions people ask are sometimes very entertaining), and this woman named Danielle came on! She has extended family members who are LDS and the Mormon faith has always interested her. She was soooo willing to learn! I gave her Alma 36 to read (she had questions about prayer and repentance), and when I came back yesterday to talk with her again, she had read it multiple times! She wants to meet with local missionaries but she takes care of her elderly mother, who is not super open about it. I’m praying that she will be able to take the discussions soon through because she is SO PREPARED. She reminds me of my recent convert Amanda 🙂 I love being able to talk with and help people come closer to Christ all over the world.

But yes, those were the highlights this week!

The last few weeks we have been doing A LOT of finding and I’ve had to depend on the Lord and His timing. It’s been tough. Anyone who knows me can tell you that I’m a very independent person, but something I’ve learned a lot on my mission is that I NEED to depend on the Savior and His Atonement. I can’t go through life depending on my own merits. It doesn’t mean that I give all of my problems to Him/pray them away, but I’ve learned that as I pray for guidance, the Lord will strengthen me and help me bear my burdens. It’s the only way I can get through them. I’m beginning to understand what it means to access the ENABLING power of the Atonement. Elder Bednar has a great talk about this called “In the Strength of the Lord.” Anyways, it’s a great read, I’ll attach it below! I’m learning lots and I just love this beautiful gospel of progression!

I love and pray for you all! Till next week (when hopefully I will be an AUNT!)

Xo,
Sister Draper

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2004/10/in-the-strength-of-the-lord?lang=eng

Leave a Reply

