Missouri – week #27

image1-19image1-20image2-22image4-16image4-17image5-1image5-13image5-14image3-19

Happy Monday once again!! And happy almost Easter!

Today we found a mosquito in our apartment and yesterday I felt very wet all day (no it wasn’t raining) so I guess you could say that summer is starting here in Missouri!!

It was a wonderfully busy week in the MIM. We had MLC and Zone Training and we got to go to Adam-Ondi-Ahman! Sister Littell and I trained in the Far West Zone up in Gallatin Missouri and then we ate lunch at AOA afterwards. Casual right? I LOVE THAT PLACE! The Spirit there is tangible, I just wanted to spend all day there! I trained on the church’s new initiative, #PrinceofPeace. I am obsessed!! If you haven’t seen it, watch it at LDS.org and there are also 8 follow up videos with it. Perfect for FHE tonight jus sayin!!

Okay update on our friends…..

Brandt: still literally the most prepared person I’ve met on my mission. We had lesson 3 with him this week and he’s still set for baptism on the 22nd of April. HE ROCKS. It has been so cool to see his transition and the changes he has made to come unto Christ. Also he’s basically finished with the Doctrine and Covenants. Love that guy. Please pray that his family will be supportive of his decision. 🙂

Kelly: We finally met Kelly this week!!! (A member referred her in the YSA Ward). She is also one of the most prepared people I have met on my mission. She found a Book of Mormon at her work and she was super bored (she hates to admit haha), and so she started to read the Book of Mormon. She is only 4 chapters in but knows that it’s true!! We answered a ton of her questions and taught the Restoration. She cried as we showed her the video of the First Vision. She said that reading the Book of Mormon has allowed her to KNOW Jesus Christ, not just know OF Him. Basically, the Spirit was incredibly powerful as Hermana Littell and I (and even Kelly!) bore testimony. We were all in tears. She wants to be baptized and wants her family to fly in from Texas to be there! So the date of her baptism is TBA but she is so ready for this covenant. I know that previous experiences I’ve had have prepared me to teach Kelly and I feel so grateful to have met her. She came to church yesterday and even came to dinner at a member’s home with some other YSAs. She got to talk with Brandt and they shared similar experiences and Brandt encouraged her to continue to read the Book of Mormon. It was SO COOL to see two investigators motivate and testify to each other. Kelly lives in Lawrence Kansas (JUST outside of our mission) but we got permission to teach her as long as we got fellowship from the ward she’s actually in. Either way, Kelly is my age and wants to go to BYU and basically we are going to be friends for life. I LOVE HERRRR

Also I would like to point out how the Book of Mormon was SO pivotal in Brandt’s and Kelly’s conversion. That book is so powerful!! Remember what our Prophet said, “If you aren’t reading the Book of Mormon each day, please do so.”

Aimee is still set for her baptism too! The YSA is so amazing. They fellowship SO WELL and the referrals just pour in.

Aaron is someone else we are teaching in YSA as well. I haven’t talked about him much but he is starting to progress quickly! He wasn’t reading the Book of Mormon because he thought that Joseph Smith wrote it haha. We cleared that up real quick and now he texts us everyday after he’s read it!!! Miracle!!

Sister Littell and I feel like we have gone a million miles an hour this week. We were so busy!! But the Lord was aware of our time and goals and we were able to hit them this week. I love this work! It’s so hard. It’s the hardest thing I have ever done but I love how much it changes people. Sister Littell found this quote this week from President Hinckley and I wanted to share it to end my email:

“I hope all of you are pointed in the direction of missionary service. I cannot promise you fun. I cannot promise you ease and comfort. I cannot promise you freedom from discouragement, from fear, from downright misery at times. But I can promise you that you will grow as you have never grown in a similar period during your entire lives. I can promise you a happiness that will be unique and wonderful and lasting. I can promise you that you will reevaluate your lives, that you will establish new priorities, that you will live closer to the Lord, that prayer will become a real and wonderful experience, that you will walk with faith in the outcome of the good things you do.”

AMEN Pres. Hinckley.

Love you all!!

Xo,
Sister Draper

422 NE 103rd St Apt. 6C
Kansas City MO 64155

Leave a Reply

