Missouri – week #28

image1-21image1-22image1image5-15image2-21image3-20

Happy Easter everyone!! πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

So I’ve finally made it here in Missouri because I got my first roadkill this week hahahaha we were driving on the freeway and I hit a GIANT possum just chillin in the middle of the lane hahahaha so I feel like a local now. Also I ate Popeyes for the first time (only took me 7 months) and it was actually pretty good. Gotta love the Midwest life!!

ANYWAYS it was a crazy busy week again. We were able to take Brandt to the Visitor Center!!!! He LOVED IT. We took him through “God’s Plan for His Family.” That presentation is my favorite thing to take investigators through. You just feel the presence of his ancestors who are so excited for Brandt to be baptized and get their temple work done too. Brandt also lost his grandfather last week and it was neat for me to relate to him, since the first time I had watched “God’s Plan” my family had recently lost my grandpa too. The Spirit was undeniable as each of us testified to him. He had had a hard week dealing with his family and his previous minister, so we went through some of the questions he had but he is relying on his faith still and will be baptized THIS SATURDAY! Brandt is a very logical person (literally smartest person I know) but he has been able to grow his faith and rely on that more than man’s logic. (His favorite scripture is Alma 32:21 😊) I’m so excited for his baptism on Saturday!

And man, Kelly has MY WHOLE HEART I adore her. She came to institute on Thursday and we are studying Foundations of the Restoration. We talked about the mission of Joseph Smith. We wrote positive attributes on the board for him and Kelly was the cutest thing because she participated! She loved how the Prophet Joseph put the love for God above his own life (yep she watched the Restoration movie on her own this week πŸ™‚ like who are these investigators…literally teaching themselves) She even asked our teacher, Sister Chapman, if she could graduate from institute. GAHHH proud missionary moment :,) We are going to the VC with the whole institute class tomorrow and Adam-Ondi-Ahman on Sunday :)))

Okay and super cool miracle this week: I was on exchanges with Sister Mudrow (who served in the VC for a little while too) and we stopped real quick at the grocery store to pick up some things to do service for some people in our ward. A guy comes in and he recognizes Sis Mudrow because she took him through the Visitor Center when he was investigating the church. He is baptized now in the YSA Ward, but just less active and pretty antagonistic against the church. I had never met him before, but Sis Littell and I have been praying for him to come back to church. He was SO NICE to us and knowing his situation, I invited him very casually to come to activities. I KNEW that Heavenly Father had placed us there to let him know that he was loved and missed and needed to come back. Well, TWO DAYS LATER he shows up to institute!!! I couldn’t believe it. He’s been less active for MONTHS and one little interaction with him helped him come back. Heavenly Father was so aware of him and his needs and it was really cool to see that.

We had the opportunity this week to have Zone Conference on Good Friday. I love celebrating holidays as a missionary because I am way more focused on the real reason we have them. As I’m doing a study the Book of Mormon about each parts of the Doctrine of Christ (faith, repentance, baptism, gift of the Holy Ghost, endure to the end), it has been interesting to see that the righteous people in the Book of Mormon have so much faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement and it hadn’t even happened yet. I know that Jesus Christ’s Atonement and resurrection is infinite, it covers all people. And through Him, we can find lasting joy even through the really hard times. Our bishops wife even mentioned this quote yesterday regarding the Savior’s crucifixion and resurrection: “a lot can change in 3 days.” SO TRUE.

I’ll end with one of my favorite scriptures in the Book of Mormon, Mosiah 24:14:

“And I will also ease the burdens which are put upon your shoulders, that even you cannot feel them upon your backs, even while you are in bondage; and this will I do that ye may stand as witnesses for me hereafter, and that ye may know of a surety that I, the Lord God, do visit my people in their afflictions.”

I love my Savior so much. I’m grateful for His atoning sacrifice and the gift of resurrection He promises each of us. I know that He lives and loves us all perfectly.

Xo
Sister Draper

Ps. Danielle, the woman that Sister GC and I taught over Teaching Center GOT BAPTIZED THIS WEEK yayyyy!!! She emailed us a picture so I’ll add that to another email :)))

Leave a Reply

