Missouri – week #32

image1-6image2-5image3-5image4-20image5-16image6-6image7-3

It was a beautiful week here in KCMO (if you consider 80 degrees, 80% humidity to be beautiful haha) but we saw lots of miracles AND I got to talk to my family, which was so fun. I love my family so much!!! It’s always a huge refresher to talk to them 🙂

And side note: it’s also pretty fun to be able to do missionary work with your bff as your companion. We are always laughing, which may or may not be a good thing. For example, we were teaching a less active family and their friend came in. We invited him to listen to our message to which he replied, “I’d become Mormon, I just like drugs too much…” oooohhhkaaay. But then he proceeds to listen anyways. We wondered what his intentions were until he came back up stairs, basically dripping in cologne and stood very close to Sister Dawson hahaha. We got outta there real quick don’t worry.

anyways our sweet almost 83 year old WILBUR GOT BAPTIZED! It was a very special day. Our last lesson with him, he told Sister Dawson and I that “God sends us angels sometimes. I know that he sent me you two.” We about died!! Everything went so smoothly and according to plan (except Bro Furrow, Wilbur’s son-in-law who baptized him, did mention that “he went a little more limp than I would’ve liked”) hahahaha. After his baptism, we went over to Sister Anderson’s (our relief society pres) house and had burritos and sugar cookies per Wilbur’s request haha. It was a very spiritual day. A baptism is a missionary pay day that’s for sure. I love witnessing God’s children enter into a covenant with Him. ❤️

Speaking of angels, we had MLC this week and I loved how President Vest talked about angels bringing about miracles. He read Moroni 7:29 and 31:

29 And because he hath done this, my beloved brethren, have miracles ceased? Behold I say unto you, Nay; neither have angels ceased to minister unto the children of men.

31 And the office of their ministry is to call men unto repentance, and to fulfil and to do the work of the covenants of the Father, which he hath made unto the children of men, to prepare the way among the children of men, by declaring the word of Christ unto the chosen vessels of the Lord, that they may bear testimony of him.

Essentially, he said that we as missionaries are these angels who call upon the power of God to bring about miracles. I loved that! Sister Dawson and I have been talking about how amazing our calling is. We only have 18 months to be God’s “full time angels” to preach repentance and declare His word.

We also had our very last interviews with President and Sister Vest this week, as we will be getting a new mission president in July. Right when I walked in the room, President asked me, “aren’t you glad you decided to serve a mission!?” It just hit like a ton of bricks! Yes! My mission has been the best and the hardest thing I have ever done but I couldn’t have imagined going through the rest of my life without it.

This gospel is so true. I felt it even more as we watched the Restoration movie with Aimee this week. Seeing the Gospel make sense to other people totally solidifies it for me as well. Aimee loved it and she’s excited to be baptized on May 27th.

I am VERY HAPPY!! Thank you all again for the constant prayers and support–it means the world! I hope everyone has a wonderful week!

XOXO
Sister Draper

Leave a Reply

