Missouri – week #33

image1-26image2-26image3-24image4-21

Hello friends and family!!!

It was a pretty eventful week!

Some highlights:
hiding in the bathroom with my compy during tornado sirens at 10:32pm while it was DUMPING rain and while our room was lit up because of all the lightening and NOT KNOWING WHAT TO DO bc they don’t train us on these things… but we were fine all is well in zion
realizing that my one month old recent convert Brandt knows more than me about the gospel sometimes (he even said to me “aren’t you supposed to know more than I do?”)
being forced by Brother Chapman to eat bratwurst during a YSA bonfire (it was terrible…the bratwurst not the bonfire)
collecting chicken eggs at our investigators house in the pouring rain while we were on tornado watch hahaha
and going on THREE exchanges with our sisters all in one week. #BacktoBack

My favorite miracle this week happened when we were at Sister Woodard’s house, the sweetest lady we do service with. She asked us what our plans were for the day and Sister Dawson and I told her we wanted to find two new investigators. She mentioned to go by and visit two of her friends, who are former investigators. So that night, we did and they let us right in! We introduced Sheri and Richard to the Book of Mormon. Earlier that day, I had read 3 Nephi 27 and felt very strongly that we should invite them to read it. A few days later, Sister Dawson went back while we were on exchanges and Sheri had read it!!! She had so many good questions and committed to take the missionary discussions again. I have so much faith about them and I’m really trying to see them in white. I’ll keep you posted!

Brandt is going strong as usual. At our lesson, he showed us some things he bought at Deseret Book hahaha YES and we watched the new Restoration videos with him! If you live near a Visitor Center, you NEED to see them! Annnnd we are trying to set up a time with him to do temple baptisms for his first time!!! It’s gonna be sweet. Also, we were unable to have a lesson with Aimee this week because she worked overtime. Because of this, her baptismal date is TBA. I am learning a lot of patience hahaha! But she is so awesome and is solid for baptism eventuallyyy 🙂

This week, I finished reading the Book of Mormon again. For the past 2 months, I studied each part of the Doctrine of Christ within the Book of Mormon and I can’t believe how much I’ve learned from it. Moroni 7:48 really stood out to me this time around:

“Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love…that ye may become the sons [and daughters!] of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure…”

That is our Heavenly Fathers whooooole purpose! To help us become like Him and His Son through the trials and challenges we face on earth. I’m grateful for my mission and this refining process to make me a better person. I’ve just been doing a lot of reflecting because I’m at the point where I’m halfway through my mission. I want to continue to set goals that will allow me to “be like Him and see Him as He is.” (The Return and Receive talk by Elder Ballard is so golden has helped me with this…check it out!)

LOVE YOUU allll have a wonderful week!

xo
Sister Draper
422 NE 103rd St Apt 6C
Kansas City MO 64155

Leave a Reply

