Missouri – week #37

image1image2image3image4image5image6image7image8IMG_0719IMG_0722IMG_0723IMG_0933

WHADDUP lovelies!!

the greeting was brought to you by my fav member in the New Mark ward, Bro Tallant, who greeted us like that paired with the shaka …without fail every single time we talked to him hahaha.

YEP IVE BEEN TRANSFERRED! I said RIP to sis daws (it was so so sad…to be reunited again in Provo…or probably in a couple days when she has a lesson at the Jail) and the New Mark/Lib YSA wards. I loved my time there and am already so excited to go back and stay with my favorite people.

BUT YES I am serving at the Historic Liberty Jail! My new companion is Sister Bleak (pronounced like steak) (so yes our comp name sounds like Blake Draper hehe) and she’s from St George Utah! We lived at the dollhouse my first transfer so I have deja vu! We are the sister leaders at the Jail and get to go on exchanges with all of the sisters serving here–which I’m so excited about! We live in the cutest little house right behind the Liberty Jail. I’m serving in the Doniphan Ward (named after Alexander Doniphan, go ahead and wiki him dad), once again following in the footsteps of my trainer mom Sis Williams…AND my bff Cyd Morgan served here too :,)

But I was given a very warm welcome by the senior couples my first day when they gave me my site guide and said “Brush up on your history Sister Draper. You have to take a bus tour on Saturday.” :,)) I didn’t end up taking a bus tour, but I did take a tour on my own of about 50 people! I love busy seasonnnn

Also, I logged back on to teaching Center and saw that a man I had taught online from NEPAL got baptized!!! Shyam is the man. He had moved to New York recently and wanted to know more about Christianity. I taught lesson 1, hooked him up with the local missionaries, and I guess the rest is history! I forgot how much I love Teaching Center and I’m happy we have two hours on it every day. I got to talk to Danielle, the woman I taught from Florida and it was so cool. She’s receiving a calling and preparing for the temple 🙂

Okay but here’s a couple more experiences from this week I wanted to share.

There’s an awesome part member family in our ward that we work with, the Green’s. The wife investigated the church while they lived in TRABUCO CANYON 8 years ago and was finally baptized when they moved to Missouri. When I met them at a ward activity last night, we totally clicked. She’s really good friends with a lot of the people in the RSM Stake (like the whole Corbin family) and it was SO COOL to be so connected to them! There is no such thing as coincidences ❤️️ I’m excited to work with them!!!

Secondly, we had presidents devotional Sunday night at the Jail and I was able to hear Brandt bear his testimony again along with sweet Wilbur!!! Some of my favorite quotes from him were “I was so nervous to do this, but then my wife and I prayed to the Lord Jesus (still gotta work on that one haha @ sis Dawson) and I felt so much better! I love this church I want to be a member forever and ever.” MELTED MY HEART!!

I love the ward I’m serving in, they are all SO missionary minded. One of my fav members, the Russell’s, already gave us a referral for their friends to teach tomorrow night! And I love serving in the Historic Liberty Jail where the Prophet spent 4 and 1/2 months of his life. Read D&C sections 121-123!! I can’t wait to share what I learn with all of you as I serve in this very special place. But for now, I’ll end with this scripture from section 123:

17 “Therefore, dearly beloved brethren, let us cheerfully do all things that lie in our power…”

This attitude was truly manifest in the Prophet as he tipped his hat to the men who were literally locking him up and said “good afternoon, gentlemen” as he entered the prison door. BE HAPPY and rely on our Savior, Jesus Christ 🙂

I LOVE YOU ALLLLL!!

XOXO
Sister Draper

216 N Main St
Liberty MO 64068

Leave a Reply

