Missouri – week #38

image1-1image2image3IMG_0170IMG_0171IMG_0172IMG_0233

FRIENDS AND FAMILY!

hello!! I promise my email is not actually this long, I just copied a lil story at the bottom.

This was such a great week. I don’t even know where to start!!
Well I will begin with Felicia because I LOVE HER!! Here is the miracle story…buckle up!!

SO Sister Hanson in our ward is so good at missionary work. She has this friend Felicia and her son is friends with Felicia’s son, Bren. We met them on Monday at a Lego activity where we sorted Legos for less fortunate children. We talked briefly and Bren actually came up to me and asked about baptisms for the dead and eventually said “can I be baptized again? like in this building? I just feel really good here!” Ummm okay I was pretty surprised/excited/stressed bc I didn’t know how to respond cuz he’s 12. But I invited him to church and he said he wanted to come! So the next night, Tuesday, we go to dinner at the Hanson’s and she invited like 4 nonmembers over and one of them was Felicia! We got talking with her about what we do, why we are here, etc. We asked her if she would like us to share a message about Jesus Christ with her family and she accepted a lesson for this Friday. THEN here comes the reallllll miracle. The next day, on Wednesday, FELICIA AND BREN SHOW UP TO THE JAIL UNANNOUNCED PEOPLE!!!! Luckily we were on shift and I was able to give them a tour while teaching the first lesson to them! At the end, she had so many questions and I was able to give her a Book of Mormon and a resto pamphlet. I WAS SO HAPPY gahhhh I can’t wait to see her again on Friday. She is the sweetest lady ever. PLEASE pray for them :))

Member missionary work is so effective! If you are reading this I invite you to pray for missionary opportunities this week and when you do, TELL THE MISSIONARIES!!! They will help you. Mostly directing this invitation to my immediate family but y’all are encouraged to do the same. The most prepared people that missionaries teach are member referrals so help a sista out

I also took a reallllly cool tour this week at the Jail. A family came in and both parents were deaf, so the daughter signed for me as I spoke. I’ve always been not very good at being okay with silence as I teach but this experience allowed me to be more comfortable with it. The Spirit was so strong and the family and I grew pretty close in that 40 minutes. SUCH an unforgettable experience I can’t really describe it.

Another spiritual tour: a family came in and their son had just returned home from his mission a week ago. Sister Bleak and I have been trying to be more bold in our teaching and at the end of the tour, sitting in front of the Liberty Jail, we invited Hayden (the RM) to bear his testimony about the Prophet and the Restoration of the Gospel in front of his family. It was AMAZING because they grew closer together as the Spirit touched each of them.

I love the Liberty Jail. A man asked me this week why we had the Visitor Center here because he didn’t think the Prophet would ever want to come back. I disagree!! The Prophet was truly refined and was able to come out stronger because of his experience here. Although he saw God the Father and His Son, Jesus Christ in the flesh in the sacred grove, I feel like Joseph Smith really came to know his Savior while in the Liberty Jail. As he received answers to his pleas and prayers, the Lord said to him, “The Son of Man hath descended below them all. Art thou greater than He?”

Our trials help us feel a piece of what the Savior felt for us. He overcame the world, and because of His example, we can endure all things. The church is true and I know that God still speaks to us today through a living prophet and personal revelation.

LOVE YALL.

XOXO
sister draper
216 N Main St
Liberty MO

Ps. I LOVE this story and wanted to include it because it reminds me of the Prophet’s experience in the Jail and can relate to us as well. I love reading it to the visitors here 🙂

…………………………….

There was a group of women in a Bible study on the book of Malachi. As they were studying chapter three they came across verse three which says, “He will sit as a refiner and purifier of silver.” This verse puzzled the women and they wondered what this statement meant about the character and nature of God.

One of the women offered to find out about the process of refining silver and get back to the group at their next Bible study. That week the woman called up a silversmith and made an appointment to watch him at work. She didn’t mention anything about the reason for her interest in silver beyond her curiosity about the process of refining silver. As she watched the silversmith, he held a piece of silver over the fire and let it heat up. He explained that, in refining silver, one needed to hold the silver in the middle of the fire where the flames were hottest so as to burn away all the impurities.

The woman thought about God holding us in such a hot spot – then she thought again about the verse, that He sits as a refiner and purifier of silver. She asked the silversmith if it was true that he had to sit there in front of the fire the whole time the silver was being refined. The man answered that yes, he not only had to sit there holding the silver, but he had to keep his eyes on the silver the entire time it was in the fire. For if the silver was left even a moment too long in the flames, it would be destroyed.

The woman was silent for a moment. Then she asked the silversmith, “How do you know when the silver is fully refined?” He smiled at her and answered, “Oh, that’s the easy part — when I see my image reflected in it.”

 

Leave a Reply

